Loops
The Loops Podcast
Podcast No. 2: Paul Riedl
0:00
-37:49

Podcast No. 2: Paul Riedl

The Blood Incantation member is searching for the light in his debut solo LP, out Friday.
Paul Riedl.

Hello all,

When I decided to call this newsletter Loops all those years ago, I wasn’t kidding. I love loops. Love them as samples, as drum machines, as synths, as vocals, whatever. I could listen to a repetitive techno track like Luomo’s “The Right Wing” for days on end. I love loops so much I personally wrote a letter of recommendation for them.

And even with all that devotion, I still don’t think I love loops as much as Paul Riedl loves them.

Riedl has spent much of his life looking for these time capsules of sound. Outside of his role in Denver death-metal band Blood Incantation, Riedl has released hours of ambient music under different aliases. It’s the kind of stuff that induces extreme relaxation, stretching for long periods of time and with only subtle changes.

In Riedl’s own words:

I really want to make peaceful, chill as fuck, ambient, like, beautifully transcendental, calming, holistically healing music for people, you know what I mean? Because life’s fucking — it’s pain, brother.

For this episode of the Loops Podcast, I sat down with Riedl and talked about his search for salvation through loops. We also dove in on his solo debut album, Ocean of Peace, out Friday (04/28) on SFI Recordings. I hope you find it eternally chill.

Listen to our conversation at the top of this post.

Sincerely yours,

Miguel

0 Comments
Loops
The Loops Podcast
Artist interviews, DJ mixes, reviews and other dispatches from Colorado. By writer and reporter Miguel Otárola.